PDA

View Full Version : Time to wait before opening mould...

Etienne Brule
08-06-2008, 07:23 PM
Hi,

I cast since a few time: I use to open the mould when the sprue is solid: so, it was 10 to 15 seconds and that was it.

I just heard to wait for 1 minute 15 seconds... so long: I trid it and... bingo...every detail was so great; a very nice bullet and a new girl !!!

so I am now waiting those 95 seconds before opening the mold...

It is just great; So I am still learning... paradigm...

Etienne Brule

RP
08-06-2008, 07:31 PM
never heard that before do you have any problem with your mold coolind down to much??

Etienne Brule
08-06-2008, 07:56 PM
Hi Ricky P,

I use a Lyman Postel 45-70.

Everything was goeing very smoothly... It was quite long waiting : 1 min 15 seconds... Time to smoke all those cigars I already quit...

But, ... ... t hat was it: a great bulllet with a lovely base and grooves that make me crazy...

And, 0.1 to 0.2 grains differences between each bullet, no more...

Etienne Brule

mooman76
08-06-2008, 08:33 PM
As soon as I see the lead on top of the sprue change color to a dull gray so that I know it hardened I open it about 3 or 4 seconds after that. The whole process only takes usually about 6-8 seconds. Any longer and I turn the heat down so it isn't so hot. Smaller bullets cool quicker and I take into consideration that a heavy bullet mould will take a little longer to cool.
If you like the wait it is good to have two moulds going at once.

DLCTEX
08-06-2008, 10:10 PM
I think you are getting things way too hot. Is it hard to cut the sprue after you wait that long? When the melt and the mold are hot enough I push the sprue plate open with a gloved hand. Are you using an electric pot? Bottom pour or ladle? Are you preheating the mold? We need to know more if we are to give good advice. DALE

warf73
08-07-2008, 03:55 AM
Sounds like your alloy is way to hot if you are waiting 95 sec to open the spur.