PDA

View Full Version : why dosnt anyone make boat taled CBs?

rufracer
08-01-2008, 01:01 PM
Im thinking that with a bt a heavier boolit could be seated into a bottle neck case below the sholder, and since that section wouldnt touch the bore, it wouldnt cause excesive leading as do many cbs that get seated below the sholder.

What do you guys think?

PS

Im new to this so tell me if Im missing something.

KCSO
08-01-2008, 03:51 PM
Take a g/c bullet and shoot it w/o a check and see how it does, samo samo as a boat tail. I personaly have never gotten it to work really well. In addition the difference between a boat tail and a p/b bullet really doesn't show up till you get past 300 yards and i just don't shoot that far with mst of my guns.

Bret4207
08-01-2008, 05:35 PM
You need a really consistent, round and square base with lead. A BT would allow all sorts of bad things to happen, in theory anyway.

rufracer
08-01-2008, 06:19 PM
i know, im going to try loading some CBs backward, and see what happens. Reduced charge of corse.

oso
08-01-2008, 06:34 PM
There are plenty of Boattail boolits but it seems most casters put gas checks on 'em as KCSO pointed out. I seat heavier boolits out to fill the throat (and touch the rifling), good fit helps avoid leading. I haven't noticed leading with my loads if the boolit base is below the case shoulder. By the way, a boattail design does not necessarily make the base or the final part of the last driving band out of round or off square.

oso
08-01-2008, 06:44 PM
i know, im going to try loading some CBs backward, and see what happens. Reduced charge of corse.

Some boolit designs lend themselves to this and I've tried it myself (looking for better fit in the throat and/or larger meplat) but i wouldn't recommend a bore rider.

waksupi
08-01-2008, 08:36 PM
A cast boat tail boolit, will most likely only shoot as fast, and as accurate, as a plain base, non-GC boolit. If that.

rufracer
08-02-2008, 10:53 AM