PDA

View Full Version : Fluxing

870TC
07-28-2008, 12:56 PM
As a newb I'm reading everything I can about casting, and ran across something dang confusing.
In the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook 3rd edition, page 43 theres a article by Dennis Marshall "The Metallurgy of Molten Lead Alloys". Under the section titled Metallic solutions, he says" lead/tin/antimony will never seperate while melting at casting temps and that fluxing is only for taking dirt etc out of the melted metal"
I've read in a bunch of other places that the tin seperates and forms a "gray scum" on the top of the liquid lead and to flux to mix the metals.

Then on page 51 under the title fluxing he says to "add enough wax to cover the surface of the liquid metal by a 1/4 inch".
Well holy crap!, most places say use a pea size lump of wax.

Then on Page 57(same dang book) under bullet casting-"melting & fluxing" they say to flux with a pea size of wax and that fluxing is required to recombine the tin that seperates from the lead. Just opposite of what they said a few pages earlier.

So how much flux material and what is the fluxing actually doing?

bradh
07-28-2008, 01:53 PM
870TC you read correctly that "at casting temp's lead/tin/antimony will not
seperate". get very hot and they will. I steal candles from the wife to flux.
Just a pea size or smaller is all that is needed. Experimenation will tell you
how much. And yes this method of fluxing is just taking the crap out of the mix.
I use a small spoon to remove the grey crud from the surface....then it's nice
and shiney! Stir the pot while fluxing.

GabbyM
07-28-2008, 02:37 PM
One of the things fluxing does is add a carbon atom to bond with and remove an oxygen atom. releasing different oxidized metals back to the more pure state we want.