PDA

View Full Version : Astounding ...could not believe it.

Digger
05-01-2017, 11:10 PM
made a deal on some lead , posted in the lead section ....
with that , the gentleman that I was talking to about the lead was standing in the front door to his shop and I had a hard time concentrating as I was looking over his shoulder into his shop ... at a "train" !! ...
What the ..??? , Miniature train ..? Looked closer and I could not believe my eyes .. a working model , fully functional
model of the "G" class locomotive ? ..
the type that people ride on in fair grounds or what not , but this was different down to the smallest detail .
I was simply astounded , the man was a master of wax mold process and casting and machining with the lathes and presses he had in his shop .
Old school , self taught from what I understand , definitely not a "push button machinist" in his work.
every detail on the locomotive he created to scale himself , right down to the little frame for the bell and he created the mold for the bell itself and had another outfit pour the brass !!
he told me so much information about it , I could not take it all in as I was just standing there in awe..

JBinMN
05-02-2017, 12:25 AM
Whoah! Very Very cool! I wish you could have taken more pics. Being there & seeing person must have been amazing.

Thanks for sharing!
:)

Bzcraig
05-02-2017, 12:33 AM
That is amazing and beautiful!

Freightman
05-02-2017, 08:11 AM
Great! Hope he passes his skill on, as if not it will pass with him.

rancher1913
05-02-2017, 08:42 AM
you need to go back and take some more photos :D

MUSTANG
05-02-2017, 09:08 AM
He needs plans to donate to a Museum when he's moved on to a higher plane. Often our families do not share our passions at the same level, and it would be a shame to see such a quality piece of Technical Art lost in the future.

WILCO
05-02-2017, 09:14 AM
Great photo!

EMC45
05-02-2017, 09:36 AM
Breath taking

lightman
05-02-2017, 09:41 AM