PDA

View Full Version : Mystery Metal--What is it and can it be smelted?

TexasJeff
07-14-2008, 02:48 PM
I was making the rounds at my salvage yard last week and the guy gave me a five-gallon bucket of wheel weights. In the bucket were also these two pieces of metal.

http://usera.imagecave.com/jdkinman/MysterySmeltMetal1LoRes.jpg

http://usera.imagecave.com/jdkinman/MysterySmeltMetal2LoRes.jpg

At his operation, he has a tire remover and machinery all in a separate area, so just about anything that is in buckets is front-end (automotive) related, and he tries to keep like metals together.

I'm not sure what these things are (which is kind of embarassing since I'm a semi-decent shade-tree mechanic), but they are heavy as hell, "clunk" when you lightly drop them on a concrete floor, scratch VERY easily. . . . but here's the catch, they don't want to melt.

I held the torch to an edge of one for over five minutes, and it didn't so much as even dimple it. The "test" wheel weights I next to this mystery metal melted real fast. But not this chunk.

Pretty much stumped. Any ideas what this is? (I have two of them.)

Jeff

azrednek
07-14-2008, 06:26 PM
It looks like steel adapters for an old brake drum lathe shaft to me.

TexasJeff
07-14-2008, 06:35 PM
It looks like steel adapters for an old brake drum lathe shaft to me.

Sorry, but I forgot to mention that it has zero magnetic qualities to it. I mean zilcho whatsoever. I was thinking the same thing (steel) except these things (I have two of them) weight a LOT MORE than steel would--getting into the range of what cast iron would weigh, but again, no magnetic qualities. No "ting" when you hit it against concerete or against each other. Soft enough to scratch and flake easily--and the flakings are easily molded/moldable.

It just won't melt! [smilie=b:

Jeff

Lead melter
07-14-2008, 06:42 PM
Kryptonite?

fishhawk
07-14-2008, 06:44 PM
has to be "nonmelteum"

targetshootr
07-14-2008, 07:08 PM