PDA

View Full Version : Stupid sizing question

OKIE
07-12-2008, 07:22 PM
I just bought at 357 mag, bought a lee mold to try out. I have a lyman 4500 sizer. My local store did not have a lyman sizer 358 die, so I bought the RCBS, the guy said they are interchangeable. Now the stupid question, when I try to size and lube the new bootlits, the bootlits don't sink deep enough to pick up the lube, it does not appear that my Lyman will push them deep enough, is it the RCBS sizer or am I doing something wrong? HELP. I am using an old bullet to get them deep enough right now, does not seem to me to be the best fix. Thanks in advance!

OKIE

oneokie
07-12-2008, 07:47 PM
Did you get a top punch with the 4500 or with the sizing die? Sounds like you do not have a top punch installed.

Welcome to the forum.

Christian for Israel
07-12-2008, 08:00 PM
i have no experience with RCBS or lyman sizers but lee sizers are only $10 and work with your regular press...

OKIE
07-12-2008, 08:31 PM
I am using a top punch I had, seems to fit the bullet nose, The problem is to get the lube on the bootlit it has to go all the way down the sizer and bottom out, my 44 does not need to do this. Not sure what else to do.

OKIE.

Le Loup Solitaire
07-12-2008, 08:34 PM