PDA

View Full Version : Solder Question

copdills
07-01-2008, 11:50 AM
Hello Pards:

I went to the local Lowes store today to pick up a Little Solder to put in my mix, and yes I am new to this and LOL no one at the store knew anything about solder except where it was stored on the shelve, but all I could find that I thought might be the right kind stated on the package it was lead free, it has tin,copper and something else , I could not find 50/50 or 60/40 or 95/5 , so where do you find the solder we need to add to WW mix ( still looking have not melted the first ingot yet)

Thanks copdills:roll:

Typecaster
07-01-2008, 12:08 PM
You had the right—although expensive—stuff. It was probably packaged by Oatey, and in the plumbing department. It's 95-5, the 5 being the copper, etc., 95% tin.

Seems to me that a chunk 2 feet long weighs about 1.25 ounces (I have it written on the wall of my shop, but I'm not there). My "system" is to use 1-lb ingots (Lyman or SAECO)—start the pot with 12 ingots (assuming 12#) and add 4 ft of 95-5 to sweeten it by about 1% tin. When the pot gets down halfway, I recharge it with 4# WWs, 1# soft, 1# Linotype, and 2 ft of 95-5…and the sprues.

carpetman
07-01-2008, 12:24 PM
copdills--I cast using wheelweights for over 30 years and then was told by very many I needed to add tin to the mix to get good fill out---especially in the smaller .22 cals which I was casting. So I bought solder. I cant tell a bit of difference. Save your money---add more wheeelweights to your wheelweights.

Cherokee
07-01-2008, 01:59 PM
Different experiences - I like to add a little tin and I have seen a difference in the casting. Typecaster nailed it for you Oatey 95-5. 1% usually all ya need, 2% max.
YMMV

JIMinPHX
07-01-2008, 03:38 PM
I've been using 6" of lead free solder to a pound of WW with good results. My mix may be a little on the "rich" side.

fireflyfather
07-01-2008, 03:52 PM