PDA

View Full Version : WW - Where do you start?

WARD O
06-30-2008, 11:38 AM
I'm new here as you can see. I have been casting BIG boolits for BPCR for several years using mostly purchased 30 to 1 alloy. I have decided it's time to get into making some boolits for the handguns.

Saturday I was able to acquire about 150 pounds of WW from a local tire shop. They didn't want money so I left him $10 for lunch.

I have read the sticky on the zinc weights and will do the sort but PLEASE direct me to an old thread or tell me:

Do you need to do any other preparation to the WW's besides sorting?

What do you use for a melting pot for the WW's? I have a turkey fryer will that work for the heat source for this project?

Any suggestions on acquiring a functional ladel?

What do you use for keeping track of the melt's temperature? Do you need to be concerned with this for any reason other than to avoid zinc contamination?

Any other advice?

Thanks
Ward

docone31
06-30-2008, 12:10 PM
I find cast iron pots are the best pots for me to melt in. I use the kitchen stove, but others use all sorts of things. I once used a two burner electric hot plate. Worked great.
For a Ladle, I used a perforated large stainless spoon. I added a wood handle and it makes a great scoop. For making an ingot, I got a stainless dipper. I let the metal cool in the dipper! Later I got a cupcake pan and poured it into it.
I use beeswax for flux and lube.
With heat, I crank that puppy up. I then transfer the ingots I make to a bottom pour pot. I keep that moderate so any zinc will float and I can scoop it out.
I really enjoy this whole thing.
Oh yeah, I put the cupcake mold on a piece of wood. Doesn't scorch the stove. Wifey does not know.

chaos
06-30-2008, 06:42 PM
Melt them in a cast iron pot on the turkey fryer. To aid in sorting questionable wheel weights, I use a pair of DYKES or snips. Zinc and Iron weights are hard as hell and to cut too easily.