PDA

View Full Version : dacron amount

jonk
06-26-2008, 11:24 AM
So... if I'm loading, say, 30 gr of 4895 in a 30-06 with 180 gr cast RN GC.... how much dacron should I use? How do I go about using it?

In short, I'm going to try dacron and I'm new to dacron. :-)

JDL
06-26-2008, 11:45 AM
I use the loose fiber kind instead of the batting type. I pinch off a piece about the size of a nickel and roll it around until it will start into the case neck. When started I take a small screwdriver and insert it about halfway into the neck and let the boolit being seated push it down to the powder. Never leave an air space between it and the base of boolit.
JDL

dougader
06-26-2008, 01:13 PM
That's good to know. I never would have thought of that last part. I guess I always thought the dacron was supposed to hold the powder down by the primer.

beagle
06-26-2008, 02:09 PM
On the batting style, I cut about 1" squares of 1/8" thick./beagle

BruceB
06-26-2008, 02:45 PM
When using dacron filler (and I use it a LOT), I try to visualize how much empty space will remain over the powder charge, and I pull off a tuft from the bulk bag MORE than large enough to fill that volume.

To install it, I push the tuft into the case with something like a flat-blade screwdriver or fairly-large Allen key, until I actually FEEL the tool contact the powder. I then stop pushing, without applying any further pressure. At this point, I want to have a bit of dacron still outside the case mouth. This remnant is pushed JUST inside the mouth, and the bullet is then seated, completing the load and leaving absolutely zero airspace.

By doing it this way, I am CERTAIN that no unfilled space remains inside the cartridge. Do not use so much fiber that it has to be heavily compressed by the bullet.