PDA

View Full Version : Ed's Red

pdgh59
01-09-2017, 05:53 AM
Hi, I have been making Ed's Red for several years and I love it. Dextron III seems to be getting harder to get here in Australia, is Dextron VI a suitable replacement?

Mytmousemalibu
01-09-2017, 06:48 AM
Hi, I have been making Ed's Red for several years and I love it. Dextron III seems to be getting harder to get here in Australia, is Dextron VI a suitable replacement?

It's my favorite cleaner, by FAR! I have used both fluids, didn't notice any difference, YMMV.

bullseye67
01-09-2017, 06:56 AM
Good morning, I also have been an "Ed's Red" fan for years. The last batch I made I used the new formula in Glen's Cast boolits book. He switched to easier to find products. Works the same, but I don't shoot 1000's of clays anymore. So I can't verify it removes the plastic residues as well. For regular pistol and rifle clean up same as the original. Good cleaning.....

Outpost75
01-09-2017, 12:09 PM
I think when Ed originally came up with the "recipe" Dexron III was the latest iteration.

I believe that any modern ATF would be fine. I am using VI in my current batches and it works as good as ever.

pdgh59
01-09-2017, 04:33 PM
Thanks for the feedback. The person at the store I bought the Dextron from told me that as older vehicles disappear off the road the older type of lubricants will disappear as well. Not sure if this is true or not.

Outpost75
01-09-2017, 04:50 PM
Thanks for the feedback. The person at the store I bought the Dextron from told me that as older vehicles disappear off the road the older type of lubricants will disappear as well. Not sure if this is true or not.

That is true, but I have found the new synthetic ATFs are an improvement. My first ER was mixed with old Ford Mercon I found in the garage, which I used to use in an old 1970 Ford Police Interceptor I once had, worked fine.

Nueces
01-09-2017, 05:08 PM
"So, is this the new Bluesmobile, or what?"

Mytmousemalibu
01-09-2017, 05:33 PM