PDA

View Full Version : What alloy for 310 Cadet?

Craiger1987
01-02-2017, 02:45 PM
I'm new to casting (as in I've never cast a bullet before) but am good not to get into it for a specific round to start with. I have a BSA Martini Cadet in the original .310 Cadet caliber. It fires a 120 grain lead heeled bullet at about 1,300fps. I make my own brass for it and have been using the bullets from BACO made in an RCBS 310-120 mound and they cast it from 20-1 alloy, considerably softer than I'm used to in lead bullets. I lube them with Lee Liquid Alox and have noticed that after a few rounds there are considerable lead deposits in the throat and first couple inches of the bore. I'm thinking the lead may be a bit soft for the application. I was wondering what alloy I should be using to make bullets when I do, the midway hardball (16bn)or maybe lineotype (22bn)?

waco
01-02-2017, 02:50 PM
No need to go that hard. Hard alloys sometimes lead worse than a softer alloy. Fit is everything. Have you slugged the bore? Size your boolits .001" larger than your groove diameter. Straight clip on wheel weights(coww) will work just fine I would think.

I'm sure others will chime in soon.

Welcome to Cast Boolits!

Craiger1987
01-02-2017, 02:55 PM
I haven't slugged the bore yet no, never done that before either lol. Hopefully it's not over size b cause there are select few moulds available for that round and all chuck bullets between .321 and .323. The only issue there may be, for me anyway, in slugging the bore is that it's a five groove barrel and from what I understand you need offset calipers to measure that?

curator
01-02-2017, 02:58 PM
Craiger1897: