PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about starting to cast...

TexasGrunt
12-17-2016, 12:49 PM
Where do I start?

I've been reloading for about 40 years or so. Started with shotgun on a Lee Load-All. Now using a Dillon 650, Hornady LnL AP, Hornady single stage. I've got a PW 375 in a box but not currently in use since it's cheaper to buy shells at Walmart than reload them.

I shoot a lot of .45 ACP, 10mm, .308, and .223.

I've been kicking around the idea of starting to cast my own. I'm a 100% disabled Veteran, no longer able to work, and a prostate cancer survivor. I was diagnosed with an aggressive prostate cancer at age 52. Currently 56.

I have a lot of time on my hands as it seems that I can't fish all the time. I've been casting lead jig heads and lures for about 30 years. I've got a couple of Lee pots, a Sarco and a Pro-Melt. I powder coat my fishing stuff using a fluid bed.

I'd really like to start casting for the .223 and then move on to the pistol calibers. I'd love to try some cast boolits in my .223 but ~$20 per 100 shipped is nuts.

My thoughts are to get a Lee mold to start with and a Lee push through sizing die. Not sure at this time how I want to lube them or just go to powder coating.

This allows me to dip my toe into casting with minimal cost.

My Pro-Melt is my go to for casting fishing stuff. It's full of pure lead. I plan on using one of the smaller pots to cast bullets so I can keep my fishing lead pure.

Any thoughts or comments?

HeavyMetal
12-17-2016, 01:13 PM
you'll find velocity will be very limited in your 223 with cast, never been big on cast in a high velocity cartridge just doesn't make sense, LOL!

Basically you wind up with a high dollar 22 rimfire you can reload, then again with todays 22 rimfire prices you may be on to something!

In any case I think I'd start out casting for your 45 acp, this cartridge is very forgiving with cast and easy to find good loads with very little hassle.