PDA

View Full Version : 359 125grn flat based

RedHawk357Mag
11-21-2016, 12:14 AM
Was kinda wondering what temps others are using with this mold. I fully understand that my temperature, Alloy, casting techniques will be different and even the personality of my mold. I normally get away with 700ish for alloy temps, lower with ladle being able to pour more heat. But I am trying to figure out how to bottom pour with this mold. I quit at 730 degrees,the other day. This is probably the highest temperature I have casted at to date. I bump up five degrees each "toe dipping". I use a pretty good hot plate with a saw blade with a big honking tin can for a mold oven. I am getting incomplete bases in the first or sometimes the second cavity. Sprue plate is free to swing. It came extremely snug. My plan is to keep bumping the heat up until the bases start doing better 50 percent. I am new to this smaller bullet I have casted 357 158s, on up, 40s, 44s. I casted with the Lee six cavity 125 RNFP and it pretty much rained great bullets no matter how I tried to stymie it [emoji1]

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Southern Son
11-21-2016, 03:02 AM
What alloy are you using? Is it in the Lee alluminium mould or another? I have been casting 50/50 (WW with pure Pb, and a little tin) in a MP made mould for my 9mm. The boolits are 128grains and hollow points, and the mould is a 4 cavity brass. I have been running the pot at 750 degrees.

RedHawk357Mag
11-21-2016, 03:26 AM
Alloy is bullet scrap with just a hair over 2 percent tin. The mold I am currently working on is the group buy mold that recently completed, brass. The only experience with this lite of bullet is a aluminum 6 cavity by Lee the 125 grain rnfp. Thanks for sharing your temp information. I suspect that I will find the sweet spot in a higher temp as well.

mnewcomb59
11-21-2016, 10:51 AM