PDA

View Full Version : Using a threaded Rod (allthread) to test wheel weights?

kraynky
11-16-2016, 08:44 PM
I'm pretty new here, and new to casting as well. I have been reloading for 20+ years, but sorting through wheel weights is brand new to me. I have already determine that it's a pain in the rear. I'm finding several plastic weights in my collection, as well as the normal zinc and steel.

Purely by accident I ended up with a 3' long piece of all thread in one of my buckets, and have determined that it makes the prefect tool for sorting the steel and zinc from the lead. Just a short stroke across the threads will let me know if it's lead or not by the damage, or lack of, to the weight.

This is probably a well known trick to you old pro's, but a search on the forum was unsuccessful, for me at least. The steel and zinc just zings across the threads with nothing more than a light scratch, while a lead weight leaves a "dished out" spot.

Like I said, y'all probably already know how this works, but I can't find it mentioned anywhere. So it's "New to me" :grin:

Anyway, I just thought I'd share my new found trick with those that may not know about it. To me it's faster than the "nipper" method, and the "tapping for sound" method doesn't work out for me, with my tinnitus and old age.

Love this forum.

BNE
11-16-2016, 08:50 PM
Welcome to the forum.

Zinc is really hard compared to lead, so this method should work just fine. And I agree, sorting is a pain!

mrbill2
11-16-2016, 09:00 PM
That's a great idea. Thanks and welcome.

kraynky
11-16-2016, 10:38 PM
I found that it is faster than "nipping" each piece and more accurate that "tapping" them on a hard surface. I just didn't know if I had just discovered something, or if it was a known trick that I hadn't heard of. Either way, it's working really well for this rookie.