PDA

View Full Version : newbie to casting bullets .

pete.s
11-12-2016, 12:23 PM
Hi all.
I am a complete newbie to using cast bullets. I have the equipment but am trying to work out to make the lead harder. my lyman lubesize leaves a deformity in the nose when I use it. . What do you do to get the lead harder. I use Std grade roofing lead in the UK and add some lead free tin plumbers solder but I must be doing it wrong still.
Any guidance please folks.
Pete

Echo
11-12-2016, 12:40 PM
Yo, Pete! Harder isn't always the answer. The nose punch in the Lyman (or any other) must closely conform to the shape of the nose of the boolit. If using a non-Lyman mold, it is possible to make do using epoxy to mold the nose of the punch to exactly conform to the shape of the boolit. You must, of course, use some sort of release agent on the boolit used in the molding process. I believe that process is given elsewhere on the forum, but it's simple. Put a dab of mixed up epoxy in the cavity of the nose punch, wipe some boolit loob, or other release agent, on the nose of a boolit to be sized, boolit goes into loob/sizer, lower the handle until contact is made, and go read the paper. Come back when the epoxy has set, and press on (after any necessary cleanup).
And what amount of Sn are you adding? And what cartridge will these boolits go into?

mdi
11-12-2016, 12:43 PM
Welcome to the wonderful, oft confusing world of boolit casting. This forum has more info available dealing with bullet casting than any one place/site I've encountered. While I have only added tin and linotype to my lead to harden the alloy, I haven't found BHN as important as bullet to gun fit (there is a sub forum dealing with this subject; Lead and Lead Alloys). I'm sure some fellers here will add some insight to getting harder alloy. I wouldn't search for a harder alloy just to void marks left from the nose punch, rather I'd polish/reshape the punch or purchase the correct one that fits your bullet's profile.