PDA

View Full Version : Acceptable Out-of-Round

hammer58
11-06-2016, 09:57 PM
I am still learning about casting and am sure you guys can give me some advise. I just cast a couple of hundred boolits for my 1911 in .45 cal. I am using the Lee TL452-230-2R mold and an old small Lyman (I think) pot. It has no temperature control and is a ladle pour pot.

I know I should have checked sooner, but after casting them, I decided to make sure they were pouring to the proper size. That's when i found that they are measuring anywhere from .448" to .456" and most of them are out of round anywhere from .001 to .004.

I have already fired about 400 of these lubed with LLA and have seen only a small amount of leading.

What is an acceptable out of round for these boolits? Should I get a .454 mold and size them down to .452 to make sure they are the right size?

Outpost75
11-06-2016, 11:10 PM
For practical purposes 0.05% of bullet diameter...

Bzcraig
11-06-2016, 11:18 PM
Generally speaking once you size your boolits they come back to round or certainly within allowable limits.

hammer58
11-06-2016, 11:51 PM
It was my understanding that the Lee TL boolits are designed to shoot without sizing. I guess I should invest in a .452 sizer? But if some of the boolits are measuring smaller on one side than .452 would I be better off getting a .454 mold then size to .452?

happy7
11-07-2016, 09:03 AM