PDA

View Full Version : Half this winters fuel laid in

MaryB
10-29-2016, 12:22 AM
Half my winters fuel is in, last 2 days I moved 5,000 pounds of corn. Shoveled it to the back of the pickup so it could fall into the auger. I am going to be paying for that move!

http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd248/maryalanab/IMG_20161028_1625018271_zpsvoiwf510.jpg

Next week I start on the 2 tons of pellets I want to stash in case this winter is colder than normal. Plus they burn cooler so I can burn earlier in fall and later in spring to keep the furnace off. My back is really going to be hating me!

rancher1913
10-29-2016, 10:23 AM
I use a gravity wagon and augers but thats just me [smilie=2:

quilbilly
10-29-2016, 11:01 AM
Corn! That is new to me. At least you don't have to plan two years ahead like around here since it takes a couple summers to dry things out. I am studying my trees now to decide which to fell, cut, and split this winter for the winter of 18-19.

GhostHawk
10-29-2016, 11:10 AM
I ran corn one winter when nat gas prices spiked and corn was under 2$ a bushel. Mine was a homeade affair starting with a fish house wood stove but when the winter was over we came out about even with what the nat gas had cost. Considering I had to check fire every 2 hours when the following year came, price of corn was going to 8$ a bushel and nat gas was down so I just mothballed it in case of an emergency.

Corn burns well with a very nice smell to it but it needs some extra air to keep it going.

PaulG67
10-29-2016, 11:43 AM
I got 1.2 tons each of pellets and coal into the cellar just last weekend. I have never burned corn as it is not readily available here. Can one use it in a pellet stove? I have been heating with pellets almost exclusively for about 25 years, Installed a coal stove in the cellar about ten years ago, now the cellar where my reloading is done is nice and warm and the floors above are also warm, makes a huge difference in comfort.

MaryB
10-29-2016, 09:05 PM