PDA

View Full Version : Mold filling technique?

LouNC
06-11-2008, 10:17 AM
I'm a newbie just getting started on borrowed Lee equipment. My question is how should I go about filling the mold from the bottom-drop spout of the Lee Pro melter?

I've tried holding the Lee mold right up against the spout, which eliminates puddling on top of the sprue plate, but makes it harder to cut the sprues, as they cool quickly. I have to give them a pretty good knock. The good part is that the sprues (if you can call them that) are so tiny as to be insignificant. So I have less scraps to gather up and re-melt at the end of a session.

I've also tried keeping an air gap between the spout and the mold, which inevitably results in a small puddle of lead on top of the sprue plate. However, since this lead puddle slows the cooling of the sprue, it cuts much easier since it holds the heat longer and stays softer. A much lighter knock on the sprue plate swings it open.

So, which is the "preferred" fill method amongst the experienced casters out there?

Thanks,
Lou

James C. Snodgrass
06-11-2008, 10:31 AM
I like a nice big sprue to allow the boolit to drink from as it cools. With force feed I have not had a lot of luck it doesn't seem to be as consistent on wght. Just my opinion . Glad to see new folks getting started at this obsession. James

runfiverun
06-11-2008, 11:26 AM
which on was making better boolits for you?
fill-out on edges? consistent weights? fewer holes in the base? etc...

AZ-Stew
06-11-2008, 12:03 PM
I prefer a space between the spout and the mould. A big sprue puddle is a good thing. It gives the boolit cooling in the mould a place to draw alloy from as the boolit cools and shrinks. This prevents boolit base voids.

If you're not getting good fillout with this method, try increasing flow rate or casting a bit faster to get the mould up to a higher temperature.