PDA

View Full Version : Load Data

7 MM
06-09-2008, 11:12 PM
I am an old (real old ) reloader. I have been casting bullets for several years (pistol) for my son and granddaughter.
Now I would like to try my hand at rifle bullets.
I have a Lee C285-130-1R and aC324-175-1R mould for 7MM and 8MM Mauser but cannot find any load data for them. The Lee Book says to pick a load for a heavier bullet and use a load for the powder you have.
Maybe it is true but sounds a little shaky to me.
Does anyone have a good reload data for these 2 bullets in the weapons stated

docone31
06-09-2008, 11:25 PM
With Lee molds, Pat at Lee told me to send them a written letter for starting load data. They will not give information for that over the e-mail.
Personally, I use the next heavier load to start with. So far I haven't had any issues. I do this with my pistol loads, and rifle loads. Seems to work well enough for me. With swaged bullets I use the starting load. With lead, I go up one weight category. The primers did not show any excessive pressure signs and I get a lot of reloads from my cases. I even had a casting fall into the case once. The gas check was definately below the shoulder. I had set that load upside down in my shell holder at the range. A person I knew asked if I had one he could borrow. I said sure and he just took the first one he touched.
The round hit the target where he had been hitting, and the shell showed no signs of excessive pressure. Impressed me. I thought he would grab one of the Milsurp I had with me.
Send out a letter to Lee recquesting data for lead. They have always been helpful to me.

James C. Snodgrass
06-09-2008, 11:41 PM
What powders do you have to work with? I like a case full of a slow powder like WC 860 or H-870 , they provide good accuracy and low pressure, you do get some unburned powder but it isn't a big deal.

VTDW
06-10-2008, 07:56 AM
I just use jacketed data and go from there.

7 MM
06-10-2008, 08:24 PM