PDA

View Full Version : Do you lube or powder coat the cast boolits?

Pages : [1] 2

huntersdog
10-06-2016, 04:48 PM
Online it seeming like powder coating is to becoming very popular thing with cast boolits. So, do you lube or powder coat your bullets?

marlin39a
10-06-2016, 05:03 PM
I've been lubing for 40 yrs, and I'm not changing my ways now. I like the looks of a properly filled out lead bullet, sized and lubed. I don't like the looks of a painted bullet.

Eddie17
10-06-2016, 05:05 PM
Powder coat has been cheap and easy. Guns clean up spotless, to date.178284

Ickisrulz
10-06-2016, 05:16 PM
I seem to shoot about everyday and always have ammo available. This is without using a progressive press or lube/sizing machine. I pan lube, dip lube and tumble lube. For me, it is cheap and fast, but not always neat.

country gent
10-06-2016, 05:19 PM
I an lube and shoot as cast. But I also only am casting for BPCR rifles currently. On some low use bullets I hand lube filling the grooves with SPG and my thumb / finger also.

Preacher Jim
10-06-2016, 05:19 PM
In tests with my ransom rest the powder coat lacked a slight amount on accuracy. For the normal shooter it would not matter. It was enough that I will stay with my squeeze and grease.
I will say the powder coat Bullets averaged 3.78 faster than lube. If I had guns that leaded I think powder coat would help with clean up. Now the P C people will debate but the same barrel same brass same components was used in the tests.

runfiverun
10-06-2016, 05:25 PM
lube.
and I don't clean my cast boolit barrels so who cares if p/c is super clean[er?] I wouldn't know the difference.

shoot-n-lead
10-06-2016, 05:27 PM
Powder coat, only...now...but I used conventional lube for YEARS...TOO long.

Preacher Jim
10-06-2016, 05:27 PM
Five not every body shoots smooth bore��

LakeviewBulldog
10-06-2016, 05:41 PM