PDA

View Full Version : cast bullets coming out way underweight

bigolsmokebomb
10-04-2016, 12:33 AM
just got into casting and am kind of stumped as to what could be causing my issue. ive been reloading for about 6 years now and wanted to get into casting. picked up a lee 20lb pot a .356 124gr 6 cavity aluminum lee mold and some wheel weight lead off of ebay. ive casted about 150ish bulets in about 3 different sittings and have gotten them to look the way they should but they are all weighing between 103gr-106gr. ive contacted lee on this and they have said that the dementions of the cast bullets are correct for the 124gr mold but ive weighed around 60 bullets from the mold and all of them are in that weight range. ive cut one of the bullets in quarters with a side cutter and everything internally looks correct with no voids in the bullets themselves. has anyone had this issue before or knows what could be causing it? its stumping both me and the guy at lee and im wanting to see if anyone has ran into this before i spend the money to send the mold back to lee and have them check it out.

OnHoPr
10-04-2016, 01:24 AM
Maybe post a few pics of mold and boolits for viewing and maybe someone could chime in on the issue.

bigolsmokebomb
10-04-2016, 01:48 AM

the first picture is after sorting of the last sitting i had. the small pile on the top right is the rejects. i dont have any pictures of the mold at this time but i will post some when i get home.

Traffer
10-04-2016, 01:54 AM
It is indeed mysterious. The only thing I can think of is that the lead you bought was not actually wheel weight lead and is an alloy with a very high content of a much lighter metal. The only one I can think of is tin. If indeed these are a predominantly tin alloy, you are lucky. Tin is worth about 10 to 15 times as much as lead. Keep us posted as to what you figure out on this. It is very interesting.
Just thought of another possibility. Could your scale be off?

OnHoPr
10-04-2016, 02:02 AM