PDA

View Full Version : Pop my cherry

Scuppertrout
09-30-2016, 07:27 PM
This is my first post so be gentle. Didn't know where to post this question. I figure all of yall must know what your doing to some extent. I'm just getting into reloading. I picked up two boxes of primers the other day , large pistol. After putting them all in I discovered one box was large rifle. My bad I should have checked each box but I didn't. So can I pop all these primers back out and tell the difference in the two? Or can I still use them like they are? What's the difference? 45 Cal. Thank you

Pipefitter
09-30-2016, 07:36 PM
Large rifle primers are taller than large pistol primers and generally have thicker cups. Run your finger over the base of the case and you should be able to tell the difference, the rifle primers will stand out more.

If you do choose to deprime the live primers just take it easy, don't slam the case into the die. You probably won't set one off doing this but it can happen.

Scuppertrout
09-30-2016, 08:26 PM
Thank you sir.

white eagle
09-30-2016, 08:57 PM
did you seat more than 100
did you take the primers out of 2 different packs
you should be able to back out the large rifle,but do it easy
i hope you gathered something from this,its easy to get things mixed up
take your time no distractions

Wayne Smith
09-30-2016, 09:09 PM
I have deprimed literally hundreds of live primers, carefully, and never had one go off. They all fired when loaded appropriately, too.

Scuppertrout
09-30-2016, 09:28 PM
I grabbed two boxes off the shelf never looked at the second one. Just lost some time. I can use the large rifle primers. Your right that won't happen again. Just glad I noticed at all.

mdi
09-30-2016, 11:48 PM