PDA

View Full Version : OAL for .45 ACP loads?

Typecaster
06-04-2008, 01:27 PM
I've been casting and loading for over 40 years, but am just now about to try loading .45 ACP. I've never loaded a straight rimless case, so I'm doing homework.

My main dilemma is that I don't have my own peestol—I'll just be borrowing one sometimes from #1 son's father-in-law. I can't check the headspace by dropping a round into the barrel as recommended here. How dependable would it be to just go by a published OAL?

I'm using the RCBS 45-201 SWC, and Ken Waters gave an OAL of 1.260" (IIRC) in Pet Loads for that boolet.

I know I should get my own 1911...I've got a 5-gal. bucket of R-P brass, the mould, and now the dies. Maybe I can convince my wife it would be a good use for our stimulus checks...

Richard

docone31
06-04-2008, 01:43 PM
You will love the Taurus PT1911. It is all the bells and whistles in one package. I got one for my wife for Christmas. She loves it.
I have the advantage of having two 1911 style pistols to set the bullets to. I found, using a loaded ball round as OAL, I have no issues with feeding. With my 200gn flat point, I take the ball round, and reduct the OAL slightly. It works in both.

Maximilian225
06-04-2008, 02:09 PM
I used the published overall length in my 1911 for along time with 200g SWC with good results.

Load you up some to shoot. When you borrow the pistol break it down and check the headspace while you got it. Than you'll know where to load next time.

Use that check to insure your future, all firearms are an investment.

:castmine:

Randall
06-04-2008, 04:01 PM
To get started seat the bullet to where you have about the thickness or a little less of your thumbnail, 20 to 30 thousandths, of the top band showing above the top of the case. Adjust from there being sure to keep the OAL under around 1.250 more or less. The important part is the ledge above the case mouth as long as it feeds.

runfiverun
06-04-2008, 04:08 PM