PDA

View Full Version : Casting Big Bore Bullets (500 Jeffery)

pillshooter
06-04-2008, 12:52 PM
To The Group:

I have decided to jump on board to querry you all for some helpful hints. I am having Steve Brooks build me a .512 mould for my 500 Jeffery. It will use Hornady .50cal GC's. He recomends I resize it .511 so I'll get a lyman custom sizer die ordered. What I really need to know is how fast can I push these bullets? I'd like to run these 590grn bullets around 2000fps or better. I have read some of the posts but since I'm new to casting for CF rifles I need some help. (I have cast and load BP & pistol bullets in the past). Here are my questions

1.) What would be best lead alloy mix to run these bullets at 2000fps (if possible)?

2.) Recomendations for HV bullet lube?

3.) Do I need to harden them (water drop, bake....)?

I am planning on developing a 500 Jeffery web page so any info you provide will benefit other in the future. Also if you are a 500 Jeffery CB shooter some load data would be swell. :)

Thanks

Brad

dubber123
06-04-2008, 06:22 PM
Welcome to the forum. With the GC design, and good lube, 2,000 fps should be possible with hardened wheelweights. Linotype added will also certainly work.

I have had good luck with LBT's Blue soft lube at 1,800+ fps. but there are many lubes that are just as good. I have had my best luck leading wise by shooting the biggest boolit that will readily chamber.

Good luck, keep us posted.

Buckshot
06-05-2008, 03:15 AM
................It seems sometimes that the larger the bore, the easier it is to get your velocity up there. But by the same token by the time you get close you're so beat to crap you no longer care :-) You should have no problem getting up to 2000/2100 fps at all with cast. I'd also suggest (if you can swing another mould) is one for a smooth slug for paper patching.

..............Buckshot

DonH
06-05-2008, 06:08 AM