PDA

View Full Version : Dove Season

lightman
09-04-2016, 05:36 PM
Just curious if there are any Dove hunters here. Living in farming country, it's a very popular sport around here. Kind of the official kickoff to hunting season. I've been hosting a hunt for 5 years or so now. We do it in the old Southern tradition where you surround a field with hunters, shoot until the Doves quit flying and then have a cookout afterward. We usually start on Friday afternoon with an informal skeet shoot and come back to my house to cook burgers on the grill. We'll have breakfast on opening morning before we hunt and then back to my house again for a fish fry. This year we had 16 hunters, 3 Wives/Girlfriends and 4 young Children, one of which was my Grandson. All are Family or Friends that are like Family. All in all, 16 shooters scored on over 200 birds, hunted on 10 acres of Sunflowers. The weather was great! A few of us went back out today and scored on a few more. Now everyone is on the road home, the house is back in order and the Wife and I are sitting here with our feet up! Lets hear about your hunt!

Hogtamer
09-04-2016, 05:53 PM
see shotgun forum...you have many fellow shooters. great post!

lightman
09-04-2016, 06:15 PM
Well Duh, I forgot about the shotgun forum!

marlin39a
09-04-2016, 06:20 PM
Sounds like a great time. Got them here along with quail. My favorite time of year!

Taylor
09-04-2016, 08:16 PM
My hunt sucked,talked with a warden,and he's confused as well about their where-a-bouts.I saw 4,10 minutes till 12,after that,nothing.At least I didn't get any chiggers.

crowbuster
09-04-2016, 09:29 PM
Good on ya lightman. Sounds like a great time. and love that the gals and kids are involved as well. I have yet to get out myself.

Handloader109
09-04-2016, 10:00 PM