PDA

View Full Version : How to remove the "flash" from the bottom of bullets.

dahermit
08-16-2016, 11:44 AM
Background: I have been casting since about 1965. I started with Lyman single-cavity bullets. Currently, being interested in high production rate due to shooting every day (have my own backyard range), I am using two (that's right, two), Lee six-cavity molds that I fill and empty alternately. One of the cavities (the one in front by the sprue bult), will leave some flash on the bullet.

I have tried tumbling, but the flash just seems to bend over instead of coming off the bullet base. Currently, I sort them out and trim each by hand using a box cutter. However, my volume is so high that I want a faster way to do it.

In as much as I am Powder Coating the bullets, I cannot just leave the flash on.

So, my question is, has anyone found a better way of removing flash and/or excess lead from the bullets? Please note, that I am not asking for ways of keeping the flash from occurring...with Lee molds I have discovered that each has its own characteristics and the cavity that produces flash on top is not likely to be remedied with any simple trick that I have not already tried.

JonB_in_Glencoe
08-16-2016, 11:49 AM
I have one troublesome mold and I use one of these in a battery screwdriver.
http://noebulletmolds.com/NV/images/PowerBBCT.jpg

http://noebulletmolds.com/NV/product_info.php?cPath=21&products_id=29&osCsid=8d6prqav8lk68jmqi6h61slib3

dahermit
08-16-2016, 12:30 PM
I made something similar out of drill rod when I had access to a machine shop. I still have it, but unforntuately, I made it to fit .30 caliber and my problem is with a .356/9MM mold. I guess I will have to order that device. Thanks, it is just what I was looking for.

Beagle333
08-16-2016, 12:51 PM
I use one of those, but I have the manual version. 'Works great.
http://noebulletmolds.com/NV/product_info.php?cPath=21&products_id=28&osCsid=8d6prqav8lk68jmqi6h61slib3

fredj338
08-16-2016, 02:38 PM