PDA

View Full Version : Under the bullet card

The Dust Collector
05-25-2008, 12:41 AM
I think that I had mentioned this in a past post, but since I have expanded the use of this method to all of my straight cases. Pistol and rifle.
With the price of gas checks being as such, I thought that it’s about time to do some experimenting. I ended up with what I think is a very tenable solution for the replacement of metallic gas checks.
A good friend’s wife is a professional picture framer. She fabricates the frame and highlights the picture in a boarder called matting. This is a very uniform high grade card stock. Read expensive.
I noticed that she was throwing away the scraps of this matting and asked if she could throw them my way. I’m glad that I had asked for this material makes a wonderful under the bullet wad. But not as is.
I have some machining experience and have made punches for myself.
The following punches are for the 357 Mag, (.360”) 44Mag, (.431”) and 45-70, (.461).
The matting measures .042” thick.
After I have many wads punched out, I “boil” them in a mixture of beeswax and 50/50 ALOX bullet lube to a ratio 1 part beeswax and 1 part 50/50 ALOX by volume, melting both separately in order to make the measurement. Once this wax mixture is finished, I control the temperature to 215*- 225*. I do this “boiling” in a deep 1 quart sauce pan. You only need about a pint of wax mixture in the pan.
A basket has been made to be about ¾ the diameter of the pan and about an inch higher than the pan is deep. This I made of 3/16” squares hardware cloth and ¼“ wire to form a usable handle and around the upper circumference of the basket. Soldering things together.
Placing the wads into the basket (about 1/3 full) and slowly lowering into the wax mix.
There is some latent moisture in these wads, so when the wads enter the hot wax mix, the moisture bubbles off as in making French fries but not nearly as violent a reaction. Be careful anyway!