PDA

View Full Version : New Boolit maker, lessons learned and some questions

Adam604
05-22-2008, 01:27 PM
Hi Folks,

I'm new to casting and have been having fun so far. For now I'm casting for 45 ACP with some old used Lee single cavity molds from my step dad.

Lee 90354 45 cal 200 gn RF (looks like lee 452-200-RF 90234)
Lee 90383 45 cal 228 gn RN (looks like lee 452-228-1R 90351)

Melting lead on a old Coleman 2 burner camp stove using a a steel pot, soup ladle, slotted skimmer spoon, stirring spoon and muffin tins for ingots all from the junk store ($5.75). I do my work outside for good lighting, ventilation and spillage. I bought a RCBS ladle and wheel weights and gave it a go.

I've been drinking at your guys firehose of knowledge and have "Leemented" my molds and have been getting shootable bullets.

Been back for more learnin' after the first bit of hands on playing with the "silver stream".

Lessons learned:

Lead is heavy.. Man, a quart of liquid lead really weights a lot! Steady lifting takes two hands... (good thing I was working on top of a sheet of wet plywood ..)

Lead is heavy.. Man a soup ladle of liquid lead really weights a lot! (good thing I was working on top of a sheet of wet plywood ..)

Lead is heavy.. Man a muffin pan of liquid lead really weights a lot! (good thing I was working on top of a sheet of wet plywood ..)

Lead is heavy.. Man a muffin pan of solid lead really weights a lot and muffin pan gets the heck bent up trying to dump ingots. (damn things stuck, did the peel off the pan from the ingots the first go, then I got smart and heated the pan over the Coleman stove and the stuck ingots fell right out, (pan number 2))

Lead stays hot for a while (need a new bucket to collect wheel weights, the ingots were a bit to warm for the old plastic paint bucket and they escaped)

Saw dust and a wood stick make a good go of fluxing the ingot pot. The second batch of wheel weights melted down had almost no lead stuck to the metal clips.