PDA

View Full Version : Cast lead bullets

leadtag
07-02-2016, 02:57 PM
Forgive me if this question seems stupid but I'll ask anyways :-)
Im a machinist and have access to all kinds of CNC Lathes and regular CNC Is it possible based on the hardcast lead properties by using an end mill to make a slight hollow point out of a Hardcast bullet for my 500 S&W, Best of both worlds if could get some expansion and deep penetration without blowing up, could experiment and use a 90 degree 1/4 drill mill or other varying diameter sizes 3/16,1/8 etc. and varying depths. Thanks

leadtag
07-03-2016, 01:05 PM
Forgive me if this question seems stupid but I'll ask anyways :-)
Im a machinist and have access to all kinds of CNC Lathes and regular CNC Is it possible based on the hardcast lead properties by using an end mill to make a slight hollow point out of a Hardcast bullet for my 500 S&W, Best of both worlds if could get some expansion and deep penetration without blowing up, could experiment and use a 90 degree 1/4 drill mill or their varying sizes 3/16,1/8 etc.of varying depths. Thanks
Either I asked the question of the century or it was the most foolish question unworthy of a response LOL.

KenH
07-03-2016, 01:12 PM
I suspect folks were confused by the post. Are you talking about using a CNC to actually drill a hollow point in each bullet? OR, the CNC to make a hollow point mold? I think you're talking about drilling each bullet? Should work, and with the CNC a bullet holder might be designed to quickly insert and remove each bullet for drilling.

With CNC you could also quickly change the design of the hollow point to allow quick testing of each design for expansion.

Ken H>

Outpost75
07-03-2016, 01:21 PM
Nothing fancy, but I made a holder for a Wilson case trimmer so that I could run a No.2 center drill into the bullet and cut a few by hand. Does a slick job.

leadtag
07-03-2016, 03:01 PM