PDA

View Full Version : 45 Acp Swc

ddeaton
05-19-2008, 09:31 PM
I just loaded up 50

185 gr cast semi wad cutter
4.4 gr Bullseye

This is my first time loading semi wad cutters. I seated these just a tad above the case with a little crimp. I used Vance boolits, dont know what mold this is, and this turned out a 1.25" COAL. I am going to run them through my Glock 21 using a aftermarket rifled barrel. Anyone see anything wrong with this? I have been running 4.5 gr Bullseye with my 230 gr round nose. I had a hard time going through all the books finding the data for the SWC. A lot of conflicting data.

gcf
05-19-2008, 10:53 PM
I just loaded up 50

4.4 gr Bullseye

... I am going to run them through my Glock 21. Anyone see anything wrong with this? ....

I was under the impression that cast bullets should not be fired in a factory Glock barrel.

Ben
05-20-2008, 12:19 AM
I'm with GCF ! !

If that is a factory GLOCK barrel, you're flirting with a disaster shooting cast bullets.

Ben

ddeaton
05-20-2008, 08:57 AM
Wow, I musta hit a sore spot. Slow down fellas. I am shooting through a aftermarket rifled barrel. Thats all I use in my Glocks. Although I have been known to walk on the dark side.

Sig shooter
05-20-2008, 09:10 AM
I just loaded up 50

4.4 gr Bullseye

This is my first time loading semi wad cutters.

I have a lighter spring to shoot sub 4gr loads . You "can" increase the charge as a bullet gets lighter . Sound like a workable target load .

I love the 185 JHP Zero bullets that are hard to come by these days.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v475/Helitech/KFD_2601.jpg

wiljen
05-20-2008, 09:22 AM
Sounds pretty mild to me. I've been using 5.0gr behind a 230gr (Lyman 452374) for about 800fps.

gasboffer
05-20-2008, 10:00 AM
I'm puzzled by the replies stating that lead bullets should not be fired in a Glock factory barrel. The original post plainly states that he was going to be using an aftermarket rifled barrel.