PDA

View Full Version : Ruger Blackhawk slugged at .3585". Have some questions

Boy9216
06-24-2016, 05:53 PM
First post on here and a total newb when it comes to casting but I'm learning. I slugged my Ruger Blackhawk .357mag and it came out to .3585". Based on what I'm reading does this mean I should go with a .359" sizing die?

The other problem is I can't seem to find sizing dies in .359". I was hoping to get Lee resizing dies so I could use my regular press but I can't find them in .359". Is my only option to buy a Lyman or RCBS sizing press which has .359" dies available?

Thanks

telebasher
06-24-2016, 06:30 PM
what does your cylinder throats measure ?

Outpost75
06-24-2016, 06:32 PM
More important is to measure the cylinder throats and make your bullets fit them. Remove the cylinder, drop some SOFT lead bullets into the chambers from the rear, tap them through and measure with a micrometer. A .3585 cylinder throat diameter for a .357 Blackhawk sounds pretty normal, and if your barrel groove diameter is the same or a bit smaller there is no issue.

Soft bullets will slug up on firing so 1/2 thousandth miss-match is no problem. If it bothers you, it doesn't take much effort to polish a Lee push-through sizer a half thou' using 320 grit wet or dry paper wrapped around an arbor, well oiled and spun in a drill press.

If your cylinder throats are more than a half-thou smaller than barrel groove diameter, you may want to get them reamed, but I would try shooting it first with soft bullets, no harder than 12-13 BHN and see how it does. Hard bullets aren't needed.

You might also measure your bullets and if they cast within a half-thousandth of the desired diameter shoot them as-is without sizing and stop worrying.

jcren
06-24-2016, 06:37 PM
Check out NOE expanded. Kinda like Lee but the sizing rings interchange in one die body.

Boy9216
06-24-2016, 07:00 PM
Thanks for the fast responses everyone. I literally started casting this week so the help is appreciated.