PDA

View Full Version : Lee Pro 4 20 LB. Furnace Mold Rest Mod

MBfrontier
05-23-2016, 05:25 AM
I have been using the original mold rest on the Lee Pro 4 20 Lb. Furnace with NOE hollow point molds. The mold rest works fine with LEE Molds but not so much with NOE HP Molds with pin brackets on the bottom. My NOE mold has2 cavities and is brass which makes it significantly heavier than aluminum. I am relatively new to bullet casting and started casting in 2013. As of now, I only own 2 LEE molds and 2 NOE HP Molds. All 4 are 2 cavity.

I thought I would try to come up with a rest I could use on this furnace that would be easier to use with a variety of molds. I used a 3/8 in. steel rod and drilled a 1/4 in. perpindicular hole to slide onto the 1/4 in. left leg. I drilled and tapped the end to accept the original thumb screw that was in the original mold rest. I made 2 adjustable collars that slide onto the 3/8 in. rod to use as mold guide fences. The adjustable collars are drilled and tapped for small allen set screws. I figured in the future I can make a small flat mold rest to slide and lock onto the 3/8 in. rod. I haven't used it yet but I'll give an update once I try it out. Here's the picture:

500MAG
05-23-2016, 05:36 AM
That looks great

Smoke4320
05-23-2016, 06:44 AM
Looks like RCBS pro melt rest and will work great.
Good job

MBfrontier
05-23-2016, 07:04 AM
Thanks 500MAG and Smoke4320. You're right Smoke. That's where I got the idea to use collars on a mold rest for the LEE Pot.

StuBach
05-23-2016, 07:16 AM
Looks like a solid option. Be interested to see if it will hold the weight.

If it does, any chance you'd be willing to make a second one to sell or trade?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

03fatboy
05-23-2016, 08:16 AM
That's a good idea, thanks for sharing.

Spector
05-23-2016, 11:03 AM