PDA

View Full Version : .306 diameter ??

swabbie
05-13-2008, 04:22 PM
the good news is: following all (most) of the advice,I was able to produce 25 very good looking CTL 312 160 2R boolits today.

they drop right at 160 grains according to my digital scale:-D,but they're only .306 at the widest area..what do I need to change?

thanks for the help.

badgeredd
05-13-2008, 04:53 PM
The first question will be from the guys who really know will be"What is your alloy?" or possibly "what temperature are you casting at?" Both of these questions have helped me to get good boolits and I am rather new to this casting thing. Another thing I have found , is to make sure your mold is up to temp. Good luck but it sounds like you are on your way to becoming addicted.

runfiverun
05-13-2008, 05:28 PM
that would be my first question a 312 boolit at 306? wow
stereo type or foundry type? i don't think even them would go that small
and your weight would be like 140 or so.

oneokie
05-13-2008, 06:12 PM
Nearly pure at a very high temp? The closer to pure and higher temps causes more shrinkage.

swabbie
05-13-2008, 06:15 PM
I gotta get a thermometer:confused:

the alloy is almost pure WW with some linotype thrown in..not too much.

weight is sure enuff 160

Ricochet
05-13-2008, 08:20 PM
You're measuring the smooth cylindrical bore rider part, right? That's about right for that boolit. Mine come out at about .3145" across the bands, but it's tricky measuring across those narrow microbands. A .314" Lee sizer just polishes off the tops of the bands. I think mine are about .307" across the bore rider part.

RU shooter
05-13-2008, 08:57 PM
I agree with Ricochet I get a .314 on the bands and .307 at the base of the nose section and tappers smaller as you go towards the nose. Hope you get it figured out ,Thats a great boolit and shoots well in everything 30-31 cal. I have tried it in so far.

Tim

swabbie
05-13-2008, 10:06 PM