PDA

View Full Version : My new to me .54 cal Ardesa Spain BP Muzzle loader

crackerjack57
05-09-2016, 05:19 PM
I am new to Muzzle loading and need some advice. I shoot BP in my 45-70 so not new to BP just needing some guidance. I bought an older Ardesa Spain .54 cal Hawken style rifle. after refinishing it and making it Uniquely me i bought Balls, pre lubed patches, grabbed some 2F and off to the range. i need to look at the box of round balls that I bought for size and will mike out the patch thickness but anyway......... it wasn't fun. i could start the ball, much effort to get the ball the first 4" to the end of the starter ball reach and then the fun began. i was wailing on the loading rod so hard that one of the times i completely pulled the loading rod out of the barrel and while down swinging now not having a proper back stop.......... well the barrel became the backstop to the bone in my palm connected to my pinky that broke. it will heal. anyway, what should my ball size and patch thickness roughly be?

.558 grove diameter, .542 bore diameter.

also, after getting the ball roughly 10" down the barrel things started to go easy. getting the ball the rest of the way was with minimal effort. is this normal?

this is before.

this is after...

Edward
05-09-2016, 05:37 PM
I don"t think you mentioned ball dimension but I cast 53 and 53.5 for my TC54 with 10 thou linen patch ,the 53.5 needs help /the 53 goes nice and they both shoot good !

05-09-2016, 06:56 PM