PDA

View Full Version : Prpblem with a Lee mould

Down South
05-07-2008, 07:54 AM
I recently bought several new Lee moulds. I broke in the last one yesterday afternoon. The Mould is a 401-175-TC. After a good cleaning and prepping the mould was casting good boolits or so I thought. After measuring the boolits I found a problem. The boolits measure .4005” in the area that would be across the blocks and .405 with the blocks. The mould halves are not matching up perfectly when they are closed.
I am not an expert by any means and am new to casting. My question is. Is the mould too far out of spec or not? I’ll be sizing the boolits to .401

44man
05-07-2008, 08:00 AM
I would say it is. Lee should replace it for you, call them.

Ranch Dog
05-07-2008, 09:35 AM
After the work of casting, I think I would size them (look at them again) and then shoot them to see how they do.

An aluminum mold is going to expand with the heat, and it will expand along the seam. In other words, you will always find a difference in the two diameters measured across and along the seam. I really don't know how much a difference is acceptable, that might be a personal preference based on performance.