PDA

View Full Version : So...Got the thermometer today....ugggg

lablover
04-01-2016, 05:23 PM
Got the thermometer today so promptly fired up the 10LB bottom pur Lyman and it was already set on what I normally cast at....Yea, after the pot got to temperature I threw in the thermometer and bout SH*&T myself. 820 DEG

YIKES, so thats good news that I now know my pot news to be set like to 3 for 700 deg. I had it on 4 to 5 and that gave me 800 deg. So, big question..And fear. How do I know I didn't melt a bunch of zinc? I got my lead from a member here who already smelted it from WW for rough sheets of lead. I re smelted it here and started running it.

Being a total newb I'm in a panic I ruid all my lead that I ran thru the pot so far for my casting....No wonder I could not keep the mold cooler for any period of time

Aghhhhhhhhhhh

DerekP Houston
04-01-2016, 05:26 PM
Got the thermometer today so promptly fired up the 10LB bottom pur Lyman and it was already set on what I normally cast at....Yea, after the pot got to temperature I threw in the thermometer and bout SH*&T myself. 820 DEG

YIKES, so thats good news that I now know my pot news to be set like to 3 for 700 deg. I had it on 4 to 5 and that gave me 800 deg. So, big question..And fear. How do I know I didn't melt a bunch of zinc? I got my lead from a member here who already smelted it from WW for rough sheets of lead. I re smelted it here and started running it.

Being a total newb I'm in a panic I ruid all my lead that I ran thru the pot so far for my casting....No wonder I could not keep the mold cooler for any period of time

Aghhhhhhhhhhh

It would look like oatmeal in the pot, not smooth lead. If you bought the lead on here I'm 99.9% sure you'll be absolutely fine. I've forgetten about my pot and left it on before...just wastes electricity and you loose a bit from oxidation. I'd cast another batch and if they fill out fine, blast away!

Seeker
04-01-2016, 05:30 PM