PDA

View Full Version : Will drastically resizing a boolit deform it?

ccjcc81
03-30-2016, 03:15 PM
I'm going to buy a resizing die to resize a .433 boolit down to .430, is that enough to cause a deformation of some kind? It's pure lead with a little tin. I picture it creating a protrusion on the rim of the base of the boolit, or in the same place on the top. I've never done it before, so I have no clue. Thanks.

robg
03-30-2016, 03:58 PM
Might be worth trying to push boolit through base first.

Shiloh
03-30-2016, 06:19 PM
Maybe, but probably not if only .003.

Shiloh

bangerjim
03-30-2016, 06:25 PM
I size 003 all the time. You might loose a little of the space in the grease grooves. The almost pure Pb will flow into the groove spaces not out the bottom.

I have found that base 1st will allow the boolits to go thru catty-whompus and WILL create lop-sided slugs. The nose guides the boolit into the sizing die straight and true. The base may not.

Best advice - - - - -JUST TO IT and find out!

banger

MarkP
03-30-2016, 06:40 PM
I have sized 0.420 as cast to 0.418" with gas check installed then sized to 0.411" just noticeably increased the length, still nice a square at the base. Wanted to try some of my 416's in my 41 Mag. I lubed and sized on my Star then used a push thru on a reloading press.

TCFAN
03-30-2016, 07:03 PM
I have mold that cast WW at .363.I size in two steps. First is in a Lyman 450 sized and lubed with a .363 lube die. The second step is with a Lee .358 push through.This makes a very accurate wad cutter for my 686.......Terry

country gent
03-30-2016, 07:44 PM