PDA

View Full Version : A PID has improved my casting!

Friar_Tuck
03-10-2016, 12:47 AM
This will not be earth shattering news for most of you guys, but I am new to the casting scene and learned a great lesson last night. I built myself a PID to control my Lyman 20lb pot. The pot worked great before but I figured I would give the PID a try. What I found out was just how much the temperature fluctuated when I added an ingot or two. before I would just pour away right after adding. By having the PID with the digital readout of the temp, I realized the need to resize or do something else, and let the pot get back to temp again. My boolits were much more consistent when it came time to size them. Now I know that my trouble before was from casting with too wide a range of temps. Just one more learning step along the way.
Jim

daengmei
03-10-2016, 12:59 AM
Are you heating the ingots before putting them in the melt?

Friar_Tuck
03-10-2016, 01:16 AM
Nope, that was probably mistake number 1!
As I said, I am still learning.
Jim

Walter Laich
03-10-2016, 02:28 PM
I bought the aftermarket lid for my pot (it's on this site) and put the ingot on top of it. Gets warm without having to run something else. Sorta 'free' heat this way

Walla2
03-10-2016, 02:32 PM
I bought the aftermarket lid for my pot (it's on this site) and put the ingot on top of it. Gets warm without having to run something else. Sorta 'free' heat this way

Good idea.

Smoke4320
03-10-2016, 03:42 PM
yes its eye opening when you see the actual temp swings and the different times it takes to recover..
a PID is one more link in the chain to to consistency

Pine Baron
03-10-2016, 03:53 PM
Which PID's are you guys using?

Springfield
03-10-2016, 04:04 PM