PDA

View Full Version : New Lee 430-310-RF?

S.B.
05-02-2008, 05:25 PM
Got the new mold todays post and got to casting and then sizing but, gas checks don't stay on bullets and some times stick in the sizing die? On the few that the check stays on, it will spin with fingers. Sizing for my Ruger so using .430 dies and it's bearing on the side surfaces of the bullet well. What's going on here am I doing something wrong? Have cast for years with Lyman cast iron molds but, never for a gas checked bullet before. This is my first time with an aluminum mold. HELP!!

quasi
05-02-2008, 05:35 PM
What temperature are you casting at?

S.B.
05-02-2008, 05:50 PM
800 or as high as my old Lyman 10lber will go? Don't use a thermometer? Had a hard time getting this mold to get warm also? Till I read their instructions about dipping the corner of the mold into the molten metal.

MT Gianni
05-02-2008, 06:14 PM
What do the bases mike? This should be a tapered gas check schank IIRC. Can you measure the check base with a set of inside calipers and see the difference? Sometimes it is check size and sometimes the mold has a small schank. If it is a small shank send it back with a few checks from 2 different lots and describe the problem. Gianni

leftiye
05-02-2008, 07:34 PM
Your gas check shanks are too small. You might be able to cast bigger with hotter melt, or with higher antimony allot. Otherwise you could have the shanks reamed a little, or you could send it back.

Blammer
05-02-2008, 07:47 PM
I have the same problem with my lee 310 RF mould with the GC shank

hone out the GC shank just a tad and that will help.

454PB
05-02-2008, 10:19 PM
I agree with the previous posts, but suspect from your remarks about having trouble getting the mould hot enough that you are casting too cold. Lee's like a lot of heat, and the best boolits are frosty from the high temperatures.