PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question on conundrum

tubesthatglow
02-02-2016, 12:58 PM
I clearly see the need to cast for throat and chamber size assessment for best accuracy. I used melted sulfur for chamber/throat/bore measurement.
However, when I cast a bullet to throat/chamber then the cast bullet is hard to fit in case opening even after belled.
I do also use Lee factory crimp dies.
I load and cast for 38 S&W, 357 mag and 38 special, 44 mag, 45 acp , 45 colt , 300 Savage(not casting) and starting 300 Blackout.
I have been reloading form 2 years and casting for 9 months.

Wayne Smith
02-03-2016, 08:56 AM
I have no idea how stable the sulfer is over time for precise measurements. Someone will be along soon who does, though. We also need to know if you use a micrometer to make your measurements.
You are risking overpressure if there is not room in the chamber for the brass to expand and release the boolit. My guess is that 1) your measurements may not be sufficiently accurate, and 2) you did not figure room for expansion and release of the boolit when you decided how to size your boolits.

Paul D. Heppner
02-03-2016, 11:00 AM
What diameters are your sizing dies? Are you getting spring back with your alloy after sizing. What alloy are you using? Have you had your micrometer or calipers checked against a standard. We need more info.

MostlyLeverGuns
02-03-2016, 12:14 PM
What are you using to expand case necks before seating your cast bullets? A neck expanding die like a Lyman 'M' die or Lee neck expanding die, maybe with an NOE bullet expander plug is needed. The size of the neck expander plug is determined by the size of the bullet you are trying to seat. The neck expander plug has a step a couple thousandths larger than your bullet and the rest .001" to .003" smaller, depending on what works for you. Most handgun dies have a bell step to open case so lead bullets aren't damaged. Just bell enough to let bullet start.

blackthorn
02-03-2016, 12:30 PM