PDA

View Full Version : Pouring technique

selmerfan
04-25-2008, 10:00 PM
Ok, so I'm new at this, I just cast and lubed my first 72 bullets last night and today. The question I have is this: I'm using a Lyman ladle, how does one get that nice pretty sprue puddle on top of the sprue plate? I'm pouring how the Lyman manual instructs, mould sideways, mate the spout to the sprue, turn both together. When I remove the spout, I get lead pouring everywhere on the sprue plate and it doesn't pool nicely on top, no matter what I do. Regardless, I get a good bullet fill-out and the large majority of my bases are filled well. What are your tips for ladle pouring boolits?
Selmerfan

FWAddit
04-25-2008, 10:30 PM
I get that neat solidified puddle only when pouring from an open ladle like the little one Lee sells. When I'm using the Lyman style ladle with a nipple, I just hold the nipple tight against the sprue hole till the lead solidifies and then tilt the mold and ladle back over together so the lead doesn't spill when I separate them. Try that and see if it works.

JIMinPHX
04-25-2008, 10:30 PM
Everyone seems to have their own little method, or two, or nine, etc. If you are doing the tilt, join, tilt upright to pour method, you can tilt back a little before separating & then flatten out the top of the blocks as the after pour dribbles from the ladle. You can also just pour from above the blocks & not join the ladle to the blocks. I usually do the tilt, then join, then pour & just let the led splash all over the place as I go from cavity to cavity. I do this over the pot. I keep the mold tilted slightly forward so that the overflow trickles back into the pot & not on my bench. For some molds one method works better, for other molds a different method may work better. Try a bunch of different stuff & see what works for you. There is no single “right” way to do it that is best in all situations with all molds & all boolit alloys at all temperatures.

mooman76
04-25-2008, 10:57 PM