PDA

View Full Version : Is it easier to load cast with a longer neck?

mortre
01-27-2016, 06:40 PM
First off, I have no where near the experience with cast bullets as most on the board. My book knowledge on the subject has me leaning towards the long neck being my best bet, but I want some experience to back up my decision before I drop the money.

I'm thinking of buying either a 9.3x74R or 9.3x62 Ruger No. 1. I don't get to fiddle with loads as often as I would like, so nailing a good load down quickly is more important to me than the difference in price of brass and dies and such. The cartridges are ballistically identical, and I have little to no interest in jacketed bullets for this rifle. The 9.3x62 has very little taper, 17.5 degree shoulder and short .306" neck. The 9.3x74 has a heavy taper, 5.5 degree shoulder and a .520" neck. Would load development most likely be easier in one versus the other?

Scharfschuetze
01-27-2016, 07:41 PM
I personally like a long neck such as a 30/30, 30/40 or 30/06. That's so I can cover the lube grooves in my boolits with the neck and I also think that I can control boolit runout better and it's easier to keep a gas check and lube within the neck and out of the powder chamber. The longer neck should support the boolit better when the rifle's action is operated briskly and prevent any induced runout from that. I certainly would opt for the longer necked case if all else was the same.

Now, on the other hand, I get great accuracy with cases with short necks too. I've had no issues with getting accuracy from the 308 Winchester, 7.5 Swiss or the 7.65 Mauser. Yes, the upper lube grooves are generally unprotected by the neck, but with care that's really not an issue if just going to the range or storing the rounds in a dust/dirt proof container if hunting.

Here's the 7.65 Mauser and 7.5 Swiss rifles with 10 shot groups. Both cases have very short necks, but seem to shoot right up there with long necked rounds.

vzerone