PDA

View Full Version : Thompson Center Scout

Taylor
04-18-2008, 08:12 AM
Well, here we go,a lot of people here gave me a tremendous amount of help,and I thank you.I have spent hours working on this non shooter,6 hours a day on the range for the last 2 days as an example.Over the winter I spent about an hour each evening for a week with a rod,fine valve lapping compound and a bunch of patches smoothing everything out,it seems to have made a difference.So many combinations,I filled 4 pages of possibilities,and went thru each one until I had something to work with.( my new meds kept me calm and not fustrated,so I got stuff done.)Here is what we ended up with..the bore .509,the RB is .490.The RB is store bought,don't have a mould yet.I dug out some pillow ticking that I had been saving for about 30 years,keeping it mostly for my Kentucky.It is .020. Now we have .510 or 1/1000 over.This works the best,a little tight, but I am now on paper at 50 yards.Went to Walmart to look for more pillow ticking,the stuff they have is .018,it works well too and will go down the barrel alot easier.What I had been using is store bought,it measured out at .013,tooo loose!The gun did not like it at all.As suggested by one of the guys here,I backed off the charge to 60 grains (pyrodex RS),and worked up to 90. Between 70 and 80 grains the shot groups were good,at least I'm on paper.Anything past 80 everything went to..well everywhere.At 70 to 75 grains we are good,but settled on 70,it likes 70 grains better than anything else.I was cutting the patches at 1 1/2" square, backed off to 1" square,then went to a round patch,sure is time consuming-cutting all them patches!The lube was a basic recipe of beeswax,crisco and olive oil.Anything over 80 grains blows out the patch anyway.Now I don't intend to shoot squirrels at 200 yards with this,just a deer at 50 or so.All I want is to be in the black at 50 yards.I have done that!Now we work out the marksmanship part.I stayed to the left on my group