PDA

View Full Version : Priming sanity check

michael.birdsley
12-19-2015, 03:09 AM
Just got done priming 50 9mm brass with my Lee ergo prime and cci small pistol primers. Brass is a mixed bag mostly federal though. This is my first time priming and I don't really have anybody to ask but, these look like they are supposed to right? I think they look right but, just making sure http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/18/ea93e6ade4cc9cc82de51a620f94406b.jpghttp://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/18/cb973f60160f8ee1b80251d793a0fdca.jpg Thanks

montanamike
12-19-2015, 03:37 AM
As long as they are flush or deeper in the case they are fine. If you stand the brass on a flat surface and it rocks back and fourth the primer needs to be seated deeper.

Yodogsandman
12-19-2015, 07:05 AM
I try for .003" to .005" below flush using a ram prime unit. Set it to the correct depth and they all come out within .001".

charlie3tuna
12-19-2015, 07:35 AM
I just run my finger across the primer, to 'see' if it is below flush with the case. Never any problems. Always goes bang....charlie

MBTcustom
12-19-2015, 07:46 AM
Those look great. Good job!
Once you've done it a few go-zillion times, you won't sweat it unless you're building match rifle ammo. For pistols, I would never clean the primer pockets, and I'd just keep shooting till they split. I was interested in the gun, and casting/reloading was just a way to get to the range and keep shooting, so I invested as little time in my loads as possible (of course, I was a teenager too, so go figure). Today I am much much more careful and the reloading is as much a part of the sport as the shooting is. I take care and I seat each primer by hand with a Lee hand priming tool. I expect my primer pockets to be clean and clear, and the primer always sits below flush.