PDA

View Full Version : To slug or not to slug

pcolapaddler
12-08-2015, 02:44 PM
I've read conflicting opinions on the need to slug a revolver barrel.

Advocates cite improvements in accuracy and other benefits. They also mention slugging the cylinders as well.

I'm new to casting. So far I have only made a few ingots from range scrap.

I can see the benefit of slugging I guess. But if I understand correctly, the soft lead plug is inserted from breech and pushed out through the muzzle. It would seem that this is a bit difficult with a revolver. Or am I missing something?

What would be the benefit of doing this with the cylinders?

I am working with .38 special / .357 magnum.

Thanks

reed1911
12-08-2015, 03:34 PM
On a revolver you will have to put the slug in from the muzzle end. What you hope for is that the barrel and chambers of the cylinder are all the same size, but it very rarely works out that way. So, if you slug your barrel and it runs .3570" and you slug your cylinder and it runs .3580 you are in a good place. If the cylinder throats are smaller than your bore, you will want to hone them out or cut them to all be at bore size or slightly larger. If the bore is smaller than the throats, not a problem so long as all your chambers are the same size. If they are not the same size or nearly so, you may want to have them opened up. You may not, I would slug it all and then start shooting, sometimes you don't need to do anything but take it to the range and burn up powder.

mart
12-08-2015, 04:17 PM