PDA

View Full Version : My 2015 Nebraska Mule deer hunt with Johonson 1942!

koger
12-07-2015, 01:13 PM
Well where to start? This will be a long post. Roger and I had been talking about this for 2 years nearly, got to the doing part this past week!! Roger and his wife Kari, and son Matt are great, gracious host to say the least, and good Godly folks to spend time with! My emphasis was on having fun, hopefully getting a deer, learning how to swage and paper patch bullets from Roger, and let me tell you, he is the Guru on this subject. On the way home I reviewed what he had told me, and put in all on paper for future use. More on the hunting.
First day, that evening, we got out, found some mule deer last few minutes of daylight. I ranged a buck with my Leica rangefinder, said 96 yds, looked further, at the shot, dirt flew up behind him, I had shot under, ranged again, said 187, I had placed the reticle on a gray fencepost between me and him, did not see it, got a wrong reading, getting dark and done for the day.