PDA

View Full Version : Flintlock Pan Powder

screwcutter
12-03-2015, 02:42 AM
I'm a flintlock newbie, but I have been grinding up 2f to make my pan priming powder.
I use a small plastic bowl and a rounded plastic screwdriver handle to make fine powder, don't know what f it is equal to but so far it's been working.

rfd
12-03-2015, 08:51 AM
using any powder finer than 2f for flintlock pan priming is a 20th century invention as 18th and 19th century locks were primed nothing finer than 2f but more than lilely 1f. so, there is no need to use 4f or attempt to make 2f into 4f for flintlock pan priming. if 2f won't work for reliable and consistent pan ignition, there is a problem with the touch hole, or lock geometry/timing, or a flint issue, or frizzen issue, or pan issue, or something else.

bedbugbilly
12-03-2015, 10:08 AM
rfd - while military rifles with large locks were primed with powder from the cartridge, I think you'd find that many rifles/fowlers were primed with finer powder. If not, then why the existence of many original small priming horns in surviving two horn sets? While I'm sure many just used the powder in their main horn to prime with, even in those days not all locks were created equal. Not trying to argue . . . just stating that original priming horns and two horn sets do exist so to say that only 2F was used is questionable . . . and I'd like to see the documentation on that.