PDA

View Full Version : Failure(s) of Old Brass?

Kraschenbirn
04-14-2008, 02:02 PM
Last week, I shot a couple boxes of "vintage" (Green & White Box w/ $5.98 K-Mart stickers) Rem. 8x57 that I'd picked up on an estate sale. Brought the empties home, deprimed and tossed 'em in the tumbler. Yesterday, I was prepping cases for working up some CB loads and the rims pulled off about one in four of these during resizing.

Remainder of the cases in the batch, fired in the same VZ24, were W-W and some Canadian mfg milsurp with a 1944 headstamp. Same case lube, same sizer die, same shellholder, but didn't lose a single W-W or MM case.

Am I looking at a, possible, bad lot of brass and, maybe, should chuck the rest into the recycle bucket? Anyone else ever encountered something like this? I've been reloading for almost 50 years and, other than some "extra hard" Winchester .243s that cracked around the case necks on initial firing, I've never seen anything similar.

Bill

leftiye
04-14-2008, 02:18 PM
Sounds like soft brass to me. This is a bit scary, as it entails that the rest of the case might be weak too. Unless it is too thin in the rim, or brittle that is - and is breaking off. In that case (brittle) you would probly have gotten neck cracking too, or head separations. I'd be some afraid of using it.

AllanD
04-14-2008, 02:26 PM
Years ago my brother picked up a bunch of OLD (red & Green box)
Remington 270Win ammo (REM-UMC headstamps) I was spotting for him as he burned it up as "sight in" ammo when I noticed a puff of smoke.

The case had split lengtwise at three seperate points all within 90degrees or so
the split ran half the body length of the case and one of the splits was through
the extractor groove aacross the case head and into the primer pocket.

One of the other cracks made into the extractor groove.

On closer examination six of the seven previously fired cases showed
some crack or another.

Smacking the uncracked case with a hammer caused thecase to shatter