PDA

View Full Version : 300 Blackout, AR platform, LBT wide meplat bullet feeding question

TooFarGone
11-06-2015, 01:56 PM
I am new to the 300 AAC Blackout. I cast a lot of WW .38 Special and 45 ACP lead bullets in the past. My AR platform upper has a stainless 8.5 inch 1:8 twist barrel with a YHM Phantom suppressor. I want to get an LBT WFN or LFN (about 180 grain) bullet mold sized for this weapon. My main interest is in subsonic loads, but may do some supersonic loads too. Will these bullet profiles feed out of the AR-15 magazine and into the 300 BLK chamber?

LBT cataloge link:
http://www.lbtmoulds.com/moulds.shtml

Thanks!

Smoke4320
11-06-2015, 02:08 PM
anything with over about .180 nose you may have feeding issues
I use a NOE 311-247 HP with a .200 nose and have a few failures to feed

Jupiter7
11-07-2015, 04:55 PM
I've actually gotten the NOE311-165rd to fire a full mag, but a bullet that short and fat will be too short in the magazine, it will move forward under recoil and the nose will ride the front wall of mag, this will turn into a base up 3 point jam and require a mag drop and operation of the charging handle, and mangle the offending round. I'd highly advise looking at something else.

popper
11-07-2015, 08:01 PM
My meplat is 0.18 with 3R ogive, it works but COAL needs to be just right. Your basically pushing a 309 cylinder into a 375 hole, alignment has to be just right.

Moonie
11-14-2015, 02:28 PM
I have an Accurate Molds 245gr mold that is a virtual copy of the NOE with a wide meplat, I've not had any issues with feeding, however at 180gr you will probably have cycling issues if you are trying to run them at subsonic speeds.

I've used the Lee 170gr that has a large flat meplat and the meplat didn't seem to be an issue however because the nose is so short I did have issues with the rounds nose diving in the mags causing feeding issues.

For subsonic I would certainly recommend 200gr or heavier.

TooFarGone
12-03-2015, 07:09 PM