PDA

View Full Version : New phone

shaper
10-18-2015, 11:08 AM
Yesterday I bought two iphones for myself and wife. We both had the old style flip phones. I feel like the town idiot. If someone calls I don't know how to pick it up. Tried to send a text to my grand daughter in college, all I got out was Hi and it diapered. Within seconds I got a reply from her. I think I sent it back to her. During breakfast I heard it ring, I must have hung it up. This afternoon I plan to go see my 13 year old grand daughter for lessons.

Rick Hodges
10-18-2015, 11:47 AM
hahaha...welcome to the club of hi tech phones capable of so much it is scary....I'm a dumb operator/user.

Artful
10-18-2015, 11:57 AM
Check youtube for lessons on cellular phones of your model, you can learn a lot.
Oh, and be prepared for the person to be young and accented'.

RayinNH
10-18-2015, 11:58 AM
I don't even have the flip phone yet :smile:.

fryboy
10-18-2015, 12:19 PM
one thing i picked up on early was to term them "stupid smart fones" :P

2wheelDuke
10-18-2015, 12:46 PM
You hardly have a choice in new phones these days. My dad just got a new Samsun Galaxy S5. My mom's had an iPhone for a couple years now. Hopefully you get the hang of it quickly. It's almost like learning a new language to interact with these modern phones.

You interact with these phones now with "gestures" on the screen just as much as you are "pressing" the pictures of the buttons it gives you. I don't have an iPhone, but I believe you "swipe" your finger left to right across the screen over a bar to answer it when it's ringing. "Tapping" something with your finger is fairly natural now that we've been clicking mouse buttons with a cursor for years now. There's also the "double tap" like a double mouse click. If you touch your finger down and keep holding it, that's kinda like a right mouse click. Then there's the "pinch" gesture to zoom out on a picture, or the reverse of that to zoom in.